Nutopians – Rewind

Ian and Phil Jackson – the father / son duo known as Nutopians – return with their 2nd full length album, RewindThe album was preceded by two EP’s that gave us a taste of what was to come – post punk tunes that’ll stay with you long after the album is over. The new album isn’t so much a new direction – it is the band finding their strengths and pushing themselves towards greatness. The guitar lines are crisp, the bass has me thinking of Pornography era Cure in places, and the singing is more confident. Post punk revival? It never went away. Ian also fronts a punk tribute band called 1977 and you can hear that influence throughout the tracks as well. A bit U2, a bit Buzzcocks, and a whole lot of The Chameleons and Joy Division. Sounds like heaven, right?

The album starts off with Rewind – a statement of intent. Shimmering guitars, soaring melodies, emotional vocals – it has everything. A Matter of Conscience shares its title with an old song by The Sun and the Moon but it isn’t a cover – instead, it is a showcase for Phil Jackson’s melodic bass playing. These 1st two songs serve as an opening punch – masterful. The Final Walk taps into darkness in a way that is really unsettling. Opening synths evoke an unholy alliance of Joy Division & The Cure on their saddest days. An instrumental showcase, this is a truly stunning song. Underworld provides a lighter moment – a mid tempo deep album cut. A Life Worth Living was released on an earlier EP but is worth mentioning again – in an alternate universe this would be a hit song. A slow build towards the chorus and then when it hits you – you’ll be singing “a life worth living” right along with the band. It is emotive, transcendent, magnificent. Perfection. The Scarlet Sea closes the album in epic fashion, an emotional release that engages the listener in a visceral way.

Nutopians have avoided the sophomore slump – not that I had any doubts. I can’t wait to see what they come up with next. You can buy the album here and follow them on Facebook to keep up with their latest activities.

Verdict: post punk classic

For Fans of: The Chameleons, Joy Division, The Cure, Brian Eno, David Bowie, U2


  1. Rewind
  2. A Matter of Conscience
  3. For a Moment (They Took My Soul Away)
  4. Claustrophobia
  5. (Is This) Where The Story Ends?
  6. The Final Walk
  7. Fast Forward
  8. Underworld
  9. Delay the Day
  10. A Life Worth Living
  11. The Scarlet Sea

Nutopians – Claustrophobia


Nutopians duo return with a stunning EP as a teaser for the upcoming full length. Led by Father / Son duo Ian and Phil Jackson, the band have forged their own path of stunning post punk tunes. A short 3 track primer, the Claustrophobia EP is a masterful release that betters what we’ve previously heard in every way. Lead off track is the title track. Claustrophobia is melodic, anthemic, and a masterpiece. It reminds me of early 80’s U2 with the way it builds to a cathartic chorus. “Feeling trapped, alone in despair / Like I was in the womb”. Haunting stuff. A Life Worth Living is one of those new wave inspired songs that makes you want to hop in the car and sing at the top of your lungs while driving the top down on a sunny day. Really feeling the early U2 vibe with this track as well. Sing a long chorus, what’s not to love? The Final Walk is a doom laden instrumental that was quite unexpected the 1st time I gave this EP a spin. Think Faith by The Cure. This is funeral music, and I mean that in the best possible way. It invokes a sense of loss & longing in the listener. An absolutely stunning way to close this short release, it has spine tingling riffs that’ll stick with you long after you are alone with your thoughts.

You can pick up the EP here. I cant wait to see what comes next from Ian and Phil Jackson

Verdict: post punk masterpiece

For Fans of: The Cure, Joy Division, U2, Echo & the Bunnymen, The Sound

Nutopians – What Does The Future Sound Like?


We last heard from the Nutopians in early to mid 2015 with the release of their EP, Time. Musically indebted to the post-punk scene of Manchester in the early 80’s, it struck a chord with me that has remained. I felt that the duo’s debut album would be stunning, and – well, I’m not wrong. As a refresher, the Nutopians are made up of a a father and son combo – Ian & Phil Jackson. I quite like the idea of a father and son working together in the arts, it lends the proceedings a gravity that feels different from friends bashing out a record. Personally, the last two weeks of my life have been marked by some unexpected tragedies and I’ve been able to do little but work, engage with friends & family, watch movies, and listen to music (writing has taken a backseat). This album by the Nutopians has been my go to album as I’ve sorted out heavy emotions. What I love about this band is that the lyrics deal in heavy life issues but always offer solutions. Or at least, wistfulness without regret. Musically, think post-punk with a slant towards power pop.

Continue reading

Nutopians – Time


Nutopians are a duo consisting of Ian & Phil Jackson. Ian sings and plays guitars whilst Phil also plays guitar and adds some backing vox. A father / son duo that offers up tunes that engage on a visceral level. I can’t think of any other father / son duos – not sure that Peter Hook’s son playing in his band counts? At any rate, the latest EP from the Nutopians offers up a blend of post-punk and power pop indie that is infectious. Time is the band’s 2nd EP and shows the band improving on their debut in every facet.

Continue reading