The Electric Mess – The Beast is You

New York City’s The Electric Mess return with their 4th album chock full of blistering rock ‘n roll, punk anthems, and garage rock freak outs. The band’s been at it for over a decade and this familiarity with each other bears stunning fruit on The Beast is You. The band is led by frontwoman Esther Crow with Dan Crow (guitar), Oweinama Biu (keyboards, vocals), Derek Davidson (bass) and Alan J. Camlet (drums). That lineup is mostly the same as it was on their last record, with a change on drums. Alan J. Camlet fits within the band’s framework nicely, providing a propulsive, steady backbeat. Hard to believe it has been over 4 years since I’ve reviewed this band (and this review is long overdue) – but holy hell, it was worth the wait. The Beast is You is my favorite album by the band to date.

Disconnected is a classic album opener – brash, thrash, and anthems galore. Girl group sounds meet garage rock, with a punk rock chorus for good measure. I’m Gone adds some surf rock & 60’s keyboards (think the Zombies meets The Doors) to the mix. “I’ve got no use for your philosophies / or your desperate attempts to bring me to my knees”. I love the “Fuck You” attitude, what an opening line. Lyrically, this one really speaks to me. You Can’t Hide is pure garage rock. The guitar lick is familiar, calling to mind The Sonics or The Kinks. Vocally, Esther Crow snarls her lyrics, sounding like a punk rock version of Nancy Sinatra. It rocks, as cliché as that sounds. Mystery Girl brings a pop slant to the band’s sound. It also serves as the single from the album (video embedded below). It’ll get stuck in your head after a few spins, no doubt about it. Yes, Future is quite unlike anything I’ve heard the band do before. Dead pan male vocals instead of Esther, a post punk feel mixed in with the usual garage rock – it is really a stunning cut. It’s also the longest song on the album, stretching past the 6-minute mark. It gives the band ample time to stretch out and create a cacophony of sound.

The album is out now and available here. The band promises a new album by the end of 2019, I am looking forward to what comes next.

Verdict: In the Garage

For Fans of: The Sonics, The Kinks, The Doors, The Zombies, Nico, The Velvet Underground


  1. Disconnected
  2. We’re Gonna Crash
  3. I’m Gone
  4. You’re My Overdrive
  5. Snow Queen
  6. No One Gets Out Alive
  7. The Beast is You
  8. You Can’t Hide
  9. Plastic Jack
  10. It Happens All the Time
  11. Mystery Girl
  12. Read You Your Rights
  13. Yes, Future

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.